left content


Airports Authority of Trinidad and Tobago Facilitates Official Paralympic Send Off

Airports Authority of Trinidad and Tobago in collaboration with the Paralymic Committee and the Ministry of Sports celebrated the accomplishments of Paralympic athletes Shantol Ince and Carlos Greene by facilitating a formal farewell ceremony before their departure to the London Paralympic Games 2012. The ceremony was held at the VIP Lounge at the Piarco International Airport on Friday August 24, 2012 at 2:30 p.m..  

Representing the Ministry of Sport, Director of Sport, Dave Bobb, stated, “We are in a celebratory mood. This is a time of many firsts. It is the first time in 36 years that this nation has won Olympic gold… It is the first time in 24 years that two national athletes have qualified for the Paralympic Games”.  Mr. Bobb pledged the continued support of the Ministry of Sport.

Paralympic swimmer Shantol Ince thanked everyone for their support.  “I’m just going to do my best”, she said “with the help of God, my parents, my church and my country”. Shot put champion Carlos Greene declared that he adopted a motto he had seen at a school where we was giving a motivational speech which stated “If it is to be, it is up to me.” He said “I know we will make you proud”.

National Paralympic Committee attaché, Sudhir Ramessar, described the Paralympic journey as a relay during which the training and qualification of the athletes were important legs. The final leg of the relay was the journey to London and the potential for Paralympic gold.

Speaking at the function, General Manager (Ag.) of the Authority, Dayanand Birju, indicated that the hosting of the function was an initiative of the Board and the executive of the Authority, and was something which was planned long before the accomplishments of our Olympic team.  He stated that simply by qualifying for the Paralympics the athletes had contributed significantly to national pride. He noted that the AATT took great pleasure in shouldering its corporate responsibility with respect to recognizing these national athletes, not only when they return, but also on departure.

Also in attendance at the function were Deputy Chairman of the Authority, Kurt Ajodha, AATT Board Member, Judith Ramoutar, representative of the British Council, Alyson Mc Kell Pantin, relatives of the athletes, friends and well wishers. The paralympic team departs for London at 5:30 p.m.

24th August, 2012     



Arrivals   Departures

waving gallery
Website design and development by E-volve New Media Systems Limited